Knowledge Graph Sensor
Knowledge Panel

Google Knowledge Graph Sensor

Here we are measuring the volatility of Google's Knowledge Graph. The data shows periodic data refreshes, algorithm updates and growth.

Read my analysis of this on Search Engine Journal >>

Note: Google has multiple Knowledge Graphs. Here we are measuring Google's Main Knowledge Graph / Knowledge Vault.

How are we Measuring Knowledge Vault Changes?

We have a system that tracks the number of related entities, the confidence score returned by the Knowledge Graph API and several other data points on a dataset of several thousand known Entities. We have isolated three insightful aspects of these changes and measure them daily. We measure:

  1. Magnitude: How many entities saw an increase or decrease (reach/breadth).
  2. Amplitude: How significant that change, in confidence scores of the affected entities, was on a micro-level (scope/height).
  3. Size: How many entities the Knowledge Vault contains.
The graph below shows Magnitude (Volatility) in purple, and Size in red. We are using amplitude and many other measurements internally as part of the paid Kalicube Pro platform and won’t be adding that publicly in the foreseeable future.

Knowledge Graph Algorithm Updates

  • Saturday 16 December 2023
  • Sunday 17 December 2023
  • Saturday 6 January 2024
  • Thursday 18 January 2024
  • Friday 19 January 2024
  • Thursday 8 February 2024
  • Saturday 10 February 2024
  • Tuesday 12 March 2024
  • Saturday 16 March 2024
  • Sunday 17 March 2024
  • Wednesday 10 April 2024
  • Friday 12 April 2024
  • Wednesday 17 April 2024
  • Wednesday 1 May 2024
  • Saturday 4 May 2024
  • Sunday 5 May 2024
  • Saturday 11 May 2024
  • Saturday 18 May 2024
  • Saturday 25 May 2024
  • Friday 14 June 2024